top of page
  • Writer's picturejmp108

Blog #2 10/5/18

This past week we were assigned to research a simple invention and give a presentation on it. I chose the pencil and I learned a lot about how a very simple invention can change the world. We have also been working on the JPL competition while doing our research. Even though they don't seem have much in common, I have come to realize that we should take the most simple approach while making our JPL machine just like the simple inventions. Sometimes the most simplistic and easily understandable device can have the best outcome.


We have experienced many ups and downs during our JPL project. We have a good idea of of how our final machine will work but we have run into many obstacles. We have spent so much time on the programing of the claw and still do not have fully functioning logic for it. Not everything is bad though, we have made the base and arm for our machine.


I am both excited and scared for the future of this competition. I know we will face many problems like: the claw logic, a way to raise the the arm, and stabilizing the entire machine. I know each of these obstacles will take some time and effort to overcome but I know we can do it. We have made a lot of progress since the beginning of this project so future problems will be hurdled and we will eventual have a final product.


Outside of engineering class, I also have a lot going on. One of my best friends recently came to visit from Boston and we plan to go skydiving. I am also exited for homecoming and the homecoming rally since they are both going to be a lot of fun. I slowly have gotten back into exercising since my shoulder surgery and I a happy about that. Senior year isn't as easy as everyone said it was, but I'm getting through it day by day and still managing to have a little fun.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #9 6/5/19

Next year I plan to attend UC Berkeley for Undeclared Engineering. I am exited for the college life and being able to live on my own and have new experiences, but I'm not very exited about the academi

bottom of page